top of page

How To Balance Your Chakra System

What are Chakras?

Chakras are the concentrated energy centers of the body. Chakra is a Sanskrit term and it means “wheel” or “disk” and is derived from the root word “cakra”. Chakras are spinning wheels of energy/light. Chakras have the loving responsibility of taking in, incorporating and emanating energy to keep us functioning at optimal levels.

We have Major and Minor Chakras

We have major and minor chakras in our energetic body systems. When a chakra is not functioning properly or if it is blocked, illness is more prone to occur. Our wellbeing on all levels can affect and is affected by the chakras. If we are feeling depressed, then we may not be taking in the maximum amount of energy for our needs. If we do not nourish our bodies with the proper food and nutrients, then we may take in less energy than more. If we “block” feelings such as anger, etc., or do not speak our truth, we may be unconsciously impeding our healthy energy flow.

How to Strengthen and Enhance the Flow of Your Chakra Systems

Chakra Basics

On the other hand, if we endeavor to work on our physical, emotional, mental and spiritual health, we can promote with ease the flow of energy through our chakras. Yoga is one way, for example, that we can work to strengthen and enhance the flow of our chakra systems. Clearing out clutter in our lives, physically and emotionally, helps to strengthen the flow of our energy. Forgiveness greatly enhances our energetic health. Of course, Reiki helps to strengthen the body’s energetic flow to bring back balance and promotes wellbeing on all levels. The Most effective way of clearing the Chakras is through focused meditation that removes the negative emotions from the system.

Below is a list of the major chakras and their basic properties.

Base or Root Chakra – Muladhara.

Base or Root Chakra – Muladhara.

Bija mantra (seed sound) is lam. It is related to survival, security, and Trust. It is the closest to the earth, resting at the base of the spine. The color associated with it is red. It is naturally associated with the element earth. Being in Nature helps in the healing of this chakra. To keep this chakra healthy, We should see if our security needs are being met, and take our power to create our own security in our lives so that our world is a safe and enjoyable place for us. The Focus to heal this Chakra: "I am Safe"

Sacral Chakra – Svadhistana.

Sacral Chakra – Svadhistana.

Bija Mantra is vam. This chakra is related to sensuality, sexuality, and creativity. It is in the lower abdomen and it’s color is orange. Svadhistana is associated with the element water. This chakra is our Creative power, when healing this the Sacral Chakra we focus on being creative, through talent and positive sexual energy. The healing focus is "I am Creative"

Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura.

Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura.

Bija mantra is ram. It’s color is yellow, and it is related to our power in this world. It’s natural element is fire, and this is where the “fire in your belly” term derives from. Or the Gut feeling. This Chakra is Balanced when you have control of your personal life. An imbalance is when you are either a the predator or victim. The point is not to control others or be controlled by others. The third chakra, or solar plexus chakra, with a healthy flow allows you to control your destiny, feel your power and accomplish your dreams. The focus of healing third chakra is “I am Strong”. Go forth and control your own destiny and happiness – you deserve it!

Heart Chakra – Anahata.

Heart Chakra – Anahata.

Bija mantra is yam. Green is the color of this chakra and it relates naturally to love and compassion, being at our heart center. This fourth chakra is associated with air. Healthy relationships, pets, family, even appreciation of beauty and nature enhance the health of this chakra. Anahata says, “I am love”. Let your heart energy flow freely in and out. Be open to receiving the love that is available to you now, the free-flowing love that is your birthright. Shine the love that you are.

Throat Chakra – Vishuddha.

Throat Chakra – Vishuddha.

Bija mantra is ham. The throat center or communication center is where you speak your truth in this world. It’s color is blue. When this chakra is flowing at optimum levels, you have the ability to ask for what you need. You also reflect your truth in the world through this chakra though your communication. Singing, chanting and breathing exercises can enhance the health of this chakra. The focused healing of the throat chakra is “I express Truth”. Do not suppress your own beautiful voice. Speak your truth, sing your joy, emanate your love through the vibration of your words.

Third Eye Chakra – Ajna.

Third Eye Chakra – Ajna.

Some associated Bija mantras are Sham or Aum or Om. The natural color of this chakra is indigo. Insight, intuition, awareness and guidance are the properties of this sixth chakra. This chakra, located between the eyebrows, says, “I am connected”. Meditation and visualization exercises can assist the healthy flow of this chakra. Be open to your inner guidance. Listen to your thoughts, they will assist you on the right path.

Crown Chakra – Sahasrara.

Crown Chakra – Sahasrara.

Some associated Bija mantras are Om or Ah or Soham. It is the silence between the space and represents spiritual connection. It is associated with violet or violet-white light. Located a little above the top of the head, it represents union, bliss, the knowledge of being at one with all. Cosmic consciousness and peace are the frequency at this chakra. The Focus for the cleansing and opening of this Chakra: “I am One with the all”.

It may be beneficial to meditate on the chakras for increased health of your energetic system and even intuit themes from them. Some simple ideas are: breathing energy into your chakras, starting at the base, seeing the colors vividly and visualizing your beautiful energy centers spinning in a healthy way, filling your body with health, wisdom, and light. Another idea is to meditate, starting at your base chakra, and ask them if they have a message for you. The answers you receive may be quite insightful!

There is changes in the article from the original.

Article originally compiled by IARP staff.

Check out our WebSite for All of our personal Posts:

Join Us on Facebook for Amazing Discoveries and Universal Enlightenment:


Universal Lighthouse~

Goddess Heart~

Twin Flame ~ Ancient Secrets~


Cosmic Light Tribe~

Unconditional Unity~



Check out our Blog “The Cosmic Light”

Connect with us on Twitter: Universal Lighthouse:

Follow us on Youtube: Universal Lighthouse

Google +

118 views0 comments



A Course in Cosmic LIGHT Work
By Chellea Wilder

The Merging of Ancient Practices to Embody and Work with the Universal Life Force Energies
Available in
Paperback and Kindle Reader

bottom of page